Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Reportedly, defending champion Mumbai Indians (MI) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) were in favor of retention.

With the auctions for the Indian Premier Leagues (IPL)’s 11th edition in 2018 still a few months away, the cricket fraternity and franchises are in turmoil – with intense discussions on player retentions.

Post IPL Governing Council’s meeting held in Mumbai on Tuesday, IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla confirmed that player retention was one of the key points discussed in the meet. However, Shukla didn’t provide any other details on the matter and asserted that a final decision on the matter will be taken in a fortnight.

“The meeting went off well. The idea was to invite actual team owners and solicit their views now that 10 years have concluded. Lot of things like retention, salary cap, and squad strength was discussed. Majority of the owners want player retention. I think we will be able to finalize the details in a fortnight,” said Shukla.

According to sources, the franchises of two teams – Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) – opposed player retention. On the other hand, defending champion Mumbai Indians (MI) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) were in favor of retention.

CSK and RR will be making a comeback in the 2018 IPL after being suspended for two years, with charges of spot fixing. In the previous two editions of the Twenty-Twenty league, players from the suspended CSK and RR were picked up by two new teams – Rising Pune Supergiants (RPSG) and Gujarat Lions (GL) – through players’ draft.

Reportedly, other teams like Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SH) want to retain at least three of their players – and Delhi Daredeviils (DD) also wished to keep three players who are already in their existing squad.

Among the players CSK might wish to retain are MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Faf du Plessis and Dwayne Bravo. On the other hand, MI will be looking to retain players from the list including  Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga and Harbhajan Singh.

After a long time, the IPL governing council meeting – held yesterday – was attended by most of the team owners.

A senior BCCI official told media, “The meeting was well attended. Delhi Daredevils owner GM Rao, Mumbai Indians’ Akash Ambani, Kolkata Knight Riders’ Shah Rukh Khan and Jay Mehta, Kings XI Punjab’s Mohit Burman and Ness Wadia were present. Rajasthan Royals was represented by Manoj Badale while CSK’s Representative John George.”

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.