Sunday, January 17, 2021
Home Delhi Elections Delhi elections 2020: AAP contesting all 70 seats, list of candidates out,...

Delhi elections 2020: AAP contesting all 70 seats, list of candidates out, Kejriwal sticks to New Delhi

The Aam Aadmi Party(AAP) has announced its candidates for all the 70 seats in the Delhi assembly elections, which is to be held on February 8, 2020.

The party has fielded 24 new faces. 15 sitting MLAs were replaced, Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia said.

“In 2015, the AAP had given tickets to six women candidates, but this time we are fielding eight women candidates,” Sisodia said.

Sisodia, Atishi and Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal will be contesting from Patparganj, Kalkaji and New Delhi constituency respectively.

Atishi will be looking to make amends after her last year’s 2019 Lok Sabha poll debacle to BJP’s Gautam Gambhir. Raghav Chadha and Dilip Pandey, who unsuccessfully contested in the Lok Sabha polls, will be facing the opposition candidates from Rajinder Nagar and Timarpur assembly seat respectively.

Former Congress MLA Ram Singh Netaji, who joined the AAP recently, will contest from Badarpur constituency.

The BJP and the Congress haven’t announced their candidates’ list yet. The BJP had won all the seven seats in the Lok Sabha polls, but the 2020 assembly polls might be a different story, as the party has been voted out of power in multiple state assembly elections, since its resounding victory in the Lok Sabha elections.

In 2015 elections, the AAP had won 67 of the 70 seats, while the BJP winning just three.

The last date for filing nominations is January 21. The results will be declared on February 11, 2020.

Most Popular

Tale of two parades: On Republic Day, farmers to hold Tractor Rally on Delhi’s Outer Ring Road

Farmers protests the farm laws have announced their decision  to hold a 50-km-long tractor rally on Republic Day on Delhi's Outer Ring Road....

#BoycottTandav: BJP leader slams Saif Ali Khan starrer web series for hurting religious sentiments

Saif Ali Khan starrer political drama Tandav has landed in controversy as Bharatiya Janata party leaders have slammed the Amazon web series...

WhatsApp ensures users privacy through WhatsApp status, says nobody will read user’s messages

WhatsApp on Sunday shared a status on WhatsApp in which it clarifies the misconception about its privacy policy. In sets of four...

Kangana Ranaut unveils new still from Thalaivi on MGR’s birth anniversary

On the birth anniversary of legendary Tamil actor and former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu MG Ramachandran(MGR), Bollywood actor Kangana Ranaut shared...