Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Home Latest india news Bhupendra Patel sworn in as Gujarat Chief Minister

Bhupendra Patel sworn in as Gujarat Chief Minister

Patel, who has a diploma in civil engineering, has been a member of the Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation and the Ahmedabad Urban Development Authority.

Bhupendra Patel has been sworn in as the 17th Chief Minister of Gujarat on Monday. Governor Acharya Devvrat administered the oath of office with Home Minster Amit Shah, Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and others present on stage. In a sudden move, Vijay Rupani and his entire cabinet quit from their posts, setting the stage for a reboot a year before assembly polls in Gujarat.

At the same time, other big leaders of BJP including Manohar Lal Khattar, Pramod Sawant, Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai were present during the swearing-in ceremony.

Bhupendra Patel, the BJP MLA from Ghatlodia seat held earlier by Anandiben Patel, was an unexpected choice after much speculation circling around other names like Union Ministers Parshottam Rupala, Mansukh Mandaviya, and Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated the new Chief Minister of Gujarat Bhupendra Patel by tweeting. PM Modi wrote: Congratulations to Bhupendra Bhai on taking oath as the Chief Minister of Gujarat. I have known him over the years and have seen his exemplary work, be it in the BJP organization or in civil administration and community service. He will certainly enrich Gujarat’s growth trajectory.

PM Modi also praised the former Chief Minister Vijay Rupani saying during his five years as CM, Rupani has undertaken many people-friendly measures. He worked tirelessly for all sections of society.

Read Also: Navjot Sidhu writes to Punjab CM Amarinder Singh, seeks action on farmers’ demands, cancellation of FIRs against them

Patel, who has a diploma in civil engineering, has been a member of the Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation and the Ahmedabad Urban Development Authority. He became a member of the Legislative Assembly after winning the 2017 Gujarat Assembly elections. In the 2017 elections, he won the seat with a margin of 117,000 voters. Bhupendra won against the Congress Party candidate, Shashikant Patel.

Vijay Rupani became the fourth BJP chief minister to be axed this year after former Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa, Tirath Singh Rawat (Uttarakhand) and Trivendra Rawat (Uttarakhand).

In other India news, Reports of the death of Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan’s deputy PM Mullah Baradar have been surfacing on social media 

Most Popular

Who is Mukul Rohatgi? From representing Gujarat government in 2002 riots case to former AGI, know about Aryan Khan’s new lawyer

Mukul Rohatgi is the former Attorney General of India and he was the 14th AGI. He served for three years as AGI from 2014 to 2017. Moreover, he also served as Additional Solicitor General of India.

Shakti actor and Bigg Boss 7 contestant Kamya Panjabi to join Congress? Find out!

Bigg Boss 7 contestant and popular TV actor Kamya Panjabi, who has been vocal about the political system in India, is all set to make her political debut.

Top News Today: Supreme Court directs Uttar Pradesh govt to provide security to witnesses in Lakhimpur Kheri violence

Top News Today: From political to entertainment news, you will get your daily dose of news here. Stay tuned for latest updates.

Are you planning to invest in gold this Diwali, Dhanteras? Experts suggest digital gold investment, here are some advantages of it

As per Hindu tradition, gold investment on the occasion of Diwali and Dhanteras is considered auspicious. The demand for physical gold jumps...