Saturday, February 27, 2021
Home Bihar election 2020 Bihar Elections 2020 Phase 2: 54.05% voter turnout recorded

Bihar Elections 2020 Phase 2: 54.05% voter turnout recorded

The second phase of polling in Bihar Assembly Election ended on Tuesday with 54.05% voter turnout. Data from the Election Commission showed lean voting in the early hours. The fates of 1,464 candidates from 94 constituencies in 17 districts were sealed in the ballot boxes today. The prominent names whose fates will be decided today include Grand Alliance’s chief ministerial candidate Tejashwi Yadav, his elder brother Tej Pratap Yadav and four state ministers. The polling opened at 7 AM and will be held till 6 PM. The last hour will be for those suffering from coronavirus. However, in Naxal infested areas, the voting will conclude early.

In the second phase, Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar cast his vote and urged everyone to exercise their voting right. Congress leader Rahul Gandhi also appealed to voters to exercise their franchise and help in government formation of their choice. Tejashwi Yadav said the power of people’s votes will bring a change in Bihar.

The voter turnout in the first phase of polling for the Bihar Assembly was recorded at 54.53% by the Election Commission of India. Voting took place in 71 constituencies of 16 districts in the 243-seat seat assembly on October 28. 1,066 candidates were in fray in the first phase of polling.

The fight is between the ruling National Democratic Alliance comprising of Bharatiya Janata Party, Janata Dal (United) among others and Mahagthbandhan which includes Rashtriya Janata Dal, Congress and Left Parties. Lok Janshakti Party is fighting the election independently.

Also Read: Bihar election: Before Phase 2 polls, rumblings in NDA over Paswan

The election will decide if Janata Dal (United) leader and NDA’s chief ministerial face Nitish Kumar gets a fourth term as chief minister. He is likely to face a tough contest from Rashtriya Janata Dal’s Tejashwi Yadav, who is the chief ministerial candidate of the grand alliance. Another factor making the fight interesting in Bihar is Chirag Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party’s solo act in the election. The results of the election will be announced on November 10.

Most Popular

Mumbai Saga trailer: Emraan Hashmi chases John Abraham in Sanjay Gupta’s gangster drama

The much-awaited trailer of Sanjay Gupta directorial crime thriller Mumbai Saga has dropped on Friday. THe film stars John Abraha, Emraam Hashmi,...

Hours before model code kicks in, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal announce relief measures in loan waiver, minimum wages

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister E. Palaniswami on Friday announced a gold loan waiver just hours before the announcement of state election dates,...

Traders, transporters shut shop on Friday for Bharat Bandh

Many farm organisations, who are protesting against the farm laws, have extended their support to the Bharat Bandh call by transport and trade unions.

Veteran CPI leader D Pandian dies at 88 in Chennai

Senior Communist leader and former Tamil Nadu state secretary of the Communist Party of India(CPI) D Pandian passed away in Chennai on Friday.The 88-year-old was on life support in Rajiv Gandhi General government hospital after his health worsened.