Friday, March 5, 2021
Home Latest india news Gujarat Municipal Election result: Celebrations begin as BJP sweeps Vadodara, Rajkot and...

Gujarat Municipal Election result: Celebrations begin as BJP sweeps Vadodara, Rajkot and Jamnagar, AAP reduces Congress tally

In 2015, the BJP won 391 of these seats and the Congress ended up with 174.

The counting of votes polled in elections to six municipal corporations of Gujarat — Ahmedabad, Surat, Rajkot, Vadodara, Bhavnagar, and Jamnagar, started on Monday morning at 9 am. The counting is underway amid heavy security and strict Covid-19 protocols. The Voting took place on Sunday in 576 seats across six municipal corporations.

In 2015, the BJP won 391 of these seats and the Congress ended up with 174.

As per the latest trends, the BJP took a big lead in Gujarat civic polls and won 11 seats in Bhavnagar, 16 in Rajkot, and 17 in Vadodara and 18 seats in Jamnagar. Overall, the BJP is leading on 60 seats while the Congress is ahead in 12 while the Congress and BSP have managed to win three-three seats. Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party which is contesting the polls for the first time has hindered Congress’ growth in Rajkot.

Also Read: Government expert panel says Covid cases likely to drop to low tens of thousands by March end

An average 46.1 per cent voter turnout was recorded on Monday for a total of 144 wards across six civic bodies in Gujarat. As per the final figures shared by the SEC on Sunday, Ahmedabad had the lowest turnout of 42.5 per cent, while Jamnagar recorded the highest turnout of 53.4 per cent. Besides, Rajkot recorded 50.7 per cent polling, Bhavnagar-49.5 per cent, Vadodara-47.8 per cent and Surat- 47.1 per cent.

Also Read: Mamata Banerjee visits nephew Abhishek Banerjee ahead of CBI questioning of his wife

The main poll contest is between the BJP, which has ruled the six corporations for last several terms, and the main opposition Congress.

All these bodies are currently governed by the BJP. While the BJP has an upper hand in elections to urban local bodies, this time, several senior and multiple-term corporators were denied tickets, leading to disquiet in the party. With Assembly elections due next year, these elections will provide an indicator of the voters’ mood.

Most Popular

Farooq Abdullah shakes a leg with Amarinder Singh to vintage song, video goes viral

Former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah attended the wedding of Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh's granddaughter.

Wow..Mini Saina: Saina Nehwal praises Parineeti Chopra in new poster of biopic Saina

Badminton player Saina Nehwal showered praises on Parineeti Chopra, who will be seen playing the lead role in her biopic titled Saina.

Suvendu Adhikari says he wants to contest from Nandigram, PM Modi to decide

BJP leader and former Bengal minister Suvendu Adhikari on Thursday told the central leadership that he wants to contest the Assembly elections from Nandigram against Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

I-T department found discrepancies worth Rs 650 crore after raid on Taapsee Pannu, Anurag Kashyap, and others

The Income Tax Department on Thursday found irregularities worth crores of rupees in ongoing raids on actor Taapsee Pannu, filmmaker Anurag Kashyap, and his partners linked to production house Phantom Films Pvt Ltd.