Wednesday, March 3, 2021
Home Bihar election 2020 Key RJD candaites: Here are some important candidates contesting in Bihar election

Key RJD candaites: Here are some important candidates contesting in Bihar election

The Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 are witnessing its third and final phase of polling on November 7. The voting has started in 78 assembly constituencies on Saturday, people of Bihar putting their eyes on the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and the opposition Grand Alliance in the state.

Here’s some detailed information about main candidates of RJD contesting in the Bihar elections 2020

Tejashwi Yadav: Former Deputy Chief Minister and RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav is one of the youngest candidate in Bihar election 2020 and the party’s chief ministerial candidate. He is contesting from Raghopur assembly constituency in the Vaishali district. Tejashwi is one of the incumbent legislators and seeking re-election from the Raghopur seat for the second time. Earlier, Tejaswi Yadav defeated the then BJP leader Satish Kumar defeated in 2015 Bihar polls.

Tej Pratap Yadav: Former Minister and the eldest son of former Bihar chief ministers Lalu Prasad Yadav and Rabri Devi, he is  contesting the Bihar election from the Hasanpur assembly constituency. His main challengers are two-time MLA Rajkumar Rai of the JD(U) and Manish Kumar Sahni of the LJP. However, the main contest is expected to be between incumbent Rai and Tej Pratap Yadav.

Mangita Devi: RJD’s Mangita Devi is a daughter-in-law of former MLA Bhola Rai, is the Mahagathbandhan (RJD) candidate from the Runni Saidpur constituency in Sitamarhi district. She had fought the 2010 assembly poll unsuccessfully as an independent candidate. Devi defeated Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) candidate Pankaj Kumar Mishra by a margin of 14,110 votes in the 2015 assembly elections. She comes from the Yadav clan and her father-in-law Bhola Rai has represented the seat in the past.

Anant Kumar Singh: Rjd’s candidate, Anant Kumar Singh who is also known as chote sarkar in Bihar, contesting Bihar election 2020from Mokama assembly seat in Patna district. The candidate is controversial because of his criminal background. Anant is currently lodged in Mokama jail after an AK-47 rifle was recovered from his possession. In 2019, he was booked under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act.

The main opposition RJD is fighting 46 seats in the final phase, while its ally Congress is in the fray in 25. Ultra-Left outfit CPI(ML), which has joined the RJD-led Grand Alliance along with CPI and CPI(M), is contesting five seats in the final phase.

Bihar Assembly has a total strength of 243 MLAs. A coalition needs the support of at least 122 MLAs to form the government in Bihar. The votes polled in all three phases in Bihar Assembly election will be counted on November 10. Results are likely to be known by the afternoon same day.

Most Popular

DTC approves 300 low-floor AC buses, but all Electric

The Delhi Transport Corporation on Monday approved bids for 300 low-floor air-conditioned e-buses as part of steps taken by Delhi Chief Minister...

Priyanka Gandhi says Congress may not agree 100% with its allies but it is to save Assam

Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra on Tuesday responded on the Congress’ tie up with Muslim organizations like the All India United Democratic...

Haryana to reserve 75% private sector jobs for locals, governor approves bill

The Haryana Governor on Tuesday approved a bill that reserves 75 percent of the private jobs for the people of the state....

Maharashtra Home Minister Anil Deshmukh says probe ordered into tweets by BJP IT cell over farmers’ protest

Maharashtra Home Minister Anil Deshmukh on Tuesday said the state government has ordered a probe into tweets by the Bharatiya Janata Party’s...