Union Sports Minister Kiren Rijiju on Friday, September 13, honoured the former Indian hockey players for their achievements and contribution to the country.

The Minister took to twitter expressing his happiness at the opportunity to facilitate the forgotten champions.

 “There were tears in my eyes. While honouring these legends today some players said “people don’t recognize us anymore …,” he tweeted. 

Rijiju said, “They were the stars and they will forever remain the Indian heroes! I’ll tweet one by one mentioning their achievements for our great nation.”

In a series of tweets, he individually honoured each player and also mentioned their career achievements.

Rijiju honoured Dr MP Ganesh who won a bronze medal at the 1972 Munich Olympics and led the Indian team at 1973 World Cup- where they bagged the silver medal.

On Thursday (September 12), MP Ganesh’s name was recommended by the Sports Ministry for the Padma Shree award, according to official sources.

Rijiju also facilitated Brig. HJS Chimni gold medallist of 1975 World Cup, Harbinder Singh gold medallist at the 1964 Tokyo Olympics, won a bronze medal in 1968 Mexico Olympics and in 1972 Munich Olympics, and Zafar Iqbal gold medal at the 1980 Moscow Olympics and played at the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics.

Rijiju also honoured Gurbachan Singh Randhawa, MK Kaushik, Ashok Diwan, Arvind Chhabra, Romeo James, Vineet Kumar, MP Singh, and Harender Singh.

While inaugurated a new gymnasium at Dhyan Chand National Stadium, the minister also expressed his happiness that India’s yesteryear heroes also attended and supported Fit India Movement. 

India hockey team had a total of eight gold medals in the Olympics and also clinched a gold medal in the 1971 World Cup.