Saturday, December 4, 2021
Home Latest india news 5 of 6 LJP MPs revolt against Chirag Paswan, ask speaker to...

5 of 6 LJP MPs revolt against Chirag Paswan, ask speaker to replace him as lower house leader, likely to join JD(U)

Less than a year after the death of Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) founder Ramvilas Paswan, over 200 party leaders have moved to JDU, the Chirag Paswan-led party is now facing another crisis in Bihar where five of its six MPs in Lok Sabha have decided to remove Chirag Paswan as the leader of the lower house.

The LJP has six MPs in the Lok Sabha Including Chirag Paswan.

The five Lok Sabha members include Paswan’s uncle Pashupati Nath Paras and cousin Prince Raj. The other three are Chandan Singh, Veena Devi and Mehboob Ali Kaiser. The five have written to Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, asking him to recognise Paras as the leader of the Parliamentary Party instead of Paswan.

All these leaders are said to have been in a rift with Chirag Paswan since last year’s Bihar Assembly elections, where the LJP had registered a poor turnout. As per the sources information they are also likely to join the ruling JD(U) in Bihar.

In April this year, former LJP leader Keshav Singh filed a case against Chirag Paswan, accusing him of cheating party members in the Bihar Assembly elections. Singh joined the JD(U) in February 2021.

Accusing Paswan for corruption, Keshav Singh had said that he was running several private entities, both in India and abroad for which he 1will be soon behind the bars on charges of corruption.

Sources told that five LJP MPs are not happy with the working style of Chirag Paswan. Chirag, the son of LJP founder Ram Vilas Paswan, had been facing a tough time in managing the party affairs after the demise of his father last year.

The LJP had walked out of the NDA in Bihar last year due to its opposition to Nitish Kumar and contested the state assembly polls on its own. It put up candidates in all the seats where the JD(U) was in the fray while largely spared the BJP except for a few seats. Though the LJP could win only one seat in the Bihar polls, it inflicted serious damage on the JD(U), whose tally fell to 43 from 71.

Read Also: Cyberspace must boost democratic values, says PM Modi at G7 summit

LJP had won six seats in 2019 Lok Sabha – Vaishali (Bina Devi), Samastipur (Ram Chandra Paswan and later his son Prince Raj), Khagaria (Choudhary Mehboob Ali Qaisar), Nawada (Chandan Kumar) and Jamui (Chirag Paswan). LJP’s lone MLA Raj Kumar Singh, who had won the Matihani seat of Begusarai in the 2020 Assembly polls, has already joined JD (U).

Most Popular

Pakistani mob lynch Sri Lankan man to death, burns his body in public over alleged blasphemy

As per reports majority of the mob were from an Islamist party, who attacked a factory in Pakistan’s Punjab province and went on to lynch a Sri Lankan man and then burnt his body after killing him to death.

Omicron Scare: Here’s the list of countries where new Covid-19 variant has spread, including India, US

South Africa was the first nation to detect the new variant of Covid-19 and since then the Omicron strain has spread to 38 countries. Following is the list of Omicron-affected countries.

Otter PR Visionary PR Firm Pushing Boundaries of the Mainstream PR Industry

A global health crisis like the Covid19 pandemic...

LIVE Top News Today: 9 members of Jaipur family back from South Africa test positive, Health Department on alert amid Omicron scare

LIVE Top News Today: From the news that matters to the latest update, you will get your daily dose of news here on APN news.