Friday, December 3, 2021
Home Latest india news Shivraj Singh Chouhan expands MP cabinet, 2 Scindia loyalists return as ministers

Shivraj Singh Chouhan expands MP cabinet, 2 Scindia loyalists return as ministers

Two BJP MLAs and former minister, Tulsiram Silawat and Govind Singh Rajput on Sunday took oath as ministers in the Shivraj Singh Chouhan cabinet at Raj Bhawan under the administration of Governor Anandiben Patel. Madhya Pradesh incumbent Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Protem Speaker Rameshwar Sharma and several ministers of the state cabinet were present during the ceremony held at the Raj Bhavan.

Following his mentor Jyotiraditya Scindia, both Silawat and Rajput had quit the Congress after resigning from the legislature in March last year which triggered a political storm in Madhya Pradesh politics. The two were inducted as ministers in the Shivraj Singh Chouhan government on April 21 last year.

The Shivraj Singh Chouhan-led Madhya Pradesh cabinet was expanded on Sunday around 53 days after BJP’s victory in Madhya Pradesh bypolls in 2019. It will be the third expansion of the state cabinet after Chouhan took oath as chief minister for the fourth term in March 2020 after the Congress government collapsed.

The second expansion of Chouhan”s cabinet took place on July 2 last year with induction of 28 ministers, including a dozen loyalists of Jyotiraditya Scindia. The first expansion was held on April 21 last year wherein five ministers, including Silawat and Rajput, were inducted.

Silawat and Rajput were among the Congress MLAs who had resigned and joined the BJP with Scindia in March 2020.

Silawat and Rajput had to resign ahead of the bypolls as they failed to get elected to the state assembly within the mandatory six-month period owing to delay in the bypolls due to Covid-19. There is a mandatory provision that a non-MLA, who got inducted in the cabinet, should get elected to the state assembly within six months.

Read Also: Omar Abdullah says vaccines belong to humanity not political parties

In the assembly bypolls held on November 3, the BJP had won 19 of the 28 seats, while the opposition Congress had bagged 9 seats. Silawat and Rajput won from Sanver and Surkhi respectively in the bypoll.

Most Popular’s 12 Days of Christmas Sale to commence from 1st December

Specially curated and hand-picked luxury baby products will...

SSC CGL Tier 1 Result 2020 out today: Here’s how to download answer key, marks

The Staff Selection Commission (SSC) is set to release the final answer key and marks of candidates of the Combined Graduate Level...

CGPSC recruitment 2021: How to apply online for 386 senior resident positions, check details here

Chhattisgarh Public Service Commission (CGPSC), Raipur is inviting applications for 386 Senior Resident Doctors' vacant positions in the state. Candidates who are...

Aditya Om prefers characters with versatile and diverse acting

Mumbai (Maharashtra) , December 03: Coming from the Telugu film industry Aditya Om is now going ahead with his career in Bollywood. Starred in...