Wednesday, December 8, 2021
Home LATEST SPORTS NEWS Cricket news IND vs NZ 1st Test, day 2: Shreyas Iyer becomes 16th Indian...

IND vs NZ 1st Test, day 2: Shreyas Iyer becomes 16th Indian to hit century in debut Test, list of cricketers who smashed ton in debut

Shreyas Iyer becomes the 16th Indian cricketer to hit a century in a debut Test match against New Zealand. He smashed 12 fours and 2 sixes to complete his record-breaking hundred.

With Iyer’s century, team India is currently batting 296-6 with wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha at the other end. Before Iyer completed his century, allrounder Ravindra Jadeja got bowled by Kiwi’s spearhead Tim Southee.

Team India resumed the Kanpur Test on day 2 at 258-4, after having a decent batting on day 1. Opening batsman Shubman Gill, allrounder Jadeja and young debutant Shreyas Iyer smashed half-centuries on day 1. New Zealand pacer Kyle Jamieson scalped three wickets on the first day of the Kanpur Test.

Iyer’s century came at the most crucial stage of the game, as the team was struggling at 145-4, but then Iyer with Jadeja added 121 runs for the 5th wicket and helped the team to recover from the early losses.

Shreyas Iyer also became the only 10th cricketer to smash a ton on debut at home. Before him it was India’s batting sensation Prithvi Shaw, who went on to score 134 in his debut match against West Indies.

As we all know, Shreyas Iyer is not the first to hit a century in a debut test match, there are 15 others too.

Read Also: Happy Constitution Day 2021: Know history, significance, other important details about Samvidhan Diwas

Here are the names of all 16 Indian cricketers who hit century in their debut test match.

1. Lala Amarnath118England (1933)
2. Deepak Shodhan110Pakistan (1952)
3. A. G. Kripal Singh100*New Zealand (1955)
4. Abbas Ali Baig112England (1959)
5. Hanumant Singh105England (1964)
6. Gundappa Viswanath  137Australia (1969)
7. Surinder Amarnath  124New Zealand (1976)
8. Mohammad Azharuddin  110England (1984)
9. Pravin Amre103South Africa (1992)
10. Sourav Ganguly  131England (1996)
11. Virender Sehwag   105South Africa (2001)
12. Suresh Raina   120Sri Lanka (2010)
13. Shikhar Dhawan  187Australia (2013)
14. Rohit Sharma177West Indies (2013)
15. Prithvi Shaw  134West Indies (2018)

Most Popular

LIVE Top News Today: Samyukt Kisan Morcha’s 5-member committee to hold urgent meeting today

LIVE Top News Today: From big breaking news to political news, you will get your daily dose of latest news here on APN Live's top news blog.

The Ashes: Australia bowls out England for 147 in Gabba Test, Cummins shines with 5-wickets haul

captain Joe Root got dismissed for a duck. Ace allrounder Ben Stokes also couldn't do much and lost his wicket to fierce delivery by Aussie skipper Pat Cummins.

Champions League: Messi scores twice in PSG victory, City lost to Leipzig while Liverpool tops group

Dutch club Ajax the dark horse of this season's Champions League also topped their group and maintained their perfect record in the group stage. Spanish giants Real Madrid also defeated Inter Milan by 2-0 and qualified for the next round

Man crushed under car over taking cancellation charge of Rs 300 train ticket in Greater Noida, one arrested

According to reports, the brothers booked tickets for Jammu and they asked for the cancellation on Sunday, for which, Nitin deducted Rs 300 cancellation charge.