Saturday, October 16, 2021
Home LATEST SPORTS NEWS Cricket news CPL 2021 final: St Kitts and Nevis Patriots beats St Lucia Kings...

CPL 2021 final: St Kitts and Nevis Patriots beats St Lucia Kings to clinch their maiden title

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots won their maiden Caribbean Premier League title by defeating St Lucia Kings by three wickets on Wednesday. All big IPL names like Chris Gayle and Evin Lewis failed to perform for their team but little known Dominic Drakes came and stole the show and won the match for St Kitts and Nevis Patriots.

In a dramatic final, Patriots managed to successfully chase the target of 160, with Dominic Drakes blasting 48 off 24 balls and securing a remarkable victory on the last ball of the match.

After winning the toss St Lucia Kings chose to bat first. With the help of Cornwall 43, Chase 43 and a quick cameo of Keemo Paul 39, St Lucia managed to put a respected total of 159 runs with the loss of 7 wickets. Fawad Ahmed and Naseem Shah of Patriots took 2 wickets each for St Lucia Kings.

While chasing the target of 160, starting of Patriots was not good as their star opener Chris Gayle got bowled on zero run and Patriots were struggling at 26/2 in four overs of the match. Middle-order batsmen Joshua Da Silva and Sherfane Rutherford built a partnership of 45 runs but that was not enough to win the title. At the end of 14th over Patriots were struggling at 95-5 but that was it because after that the storm of Dominic Drakes arrived and snatched the match from St Lucia, scoring the match winning knock of 48 from just 24 balls unbeaten. Drakes ran a single on the last ball of the match with the one run needed for the victory.

Read Also: Will try to beat India again like Champions Trophy final in 2017: Hasan Ali

Dominic Drakes was named man of the match for his match winning knock. Roston Chase was named ‘Player of the tournament’ after smashing 446 runs in 12 matches, while veteran pacer Ravi Ramapal ended up as the leading wicket-taker in CPL 2021.

After wrapping the CPL, several West Indian stars including Gayle, Lewis, Rutherford and Bravo will be headed to UAE for the remainder of the IPL 2021, starting September 19th.

Most Popular

Watch: Mo Salah scores sensational solo goal as Liverpool go to the top of Premier League

Mohamed Salah scored a sensational solo goal and produced a sublime assist to Sadio Mane, in a 5-0 victory for Liverpool against Watford in a Premier League match. Whereas, Roberto Firmino scored hat-trick and Mane scoring his 100th Premier League goal.

Kerala floods: 1 dead, at least 13 missing in Kottayam, red alert in 5 districts

Kerala has been witnessing heavy rain since Friday night, Kottayam and Pathanamthitta are two of the most affected districts. Officials have also reported of two landslides in the areas of Kottayam and Iddugi.

Kerala State Film Awards 2021: From Anna Ben, Jayasurya win big, check full list here

The 51st Kerala State Film Awards has been announced on Saturday. From Anna Ben to Jayasurya, Here’s the complete list of winners from Kerala State Film Awards:

Smita Patil 66th birth anniversary: Lesser-known facts about Padma Shri awardee actor

Smita Patil was one of the most versatile actors in the Indian film industry. Born on October 17, 1955, the actor made a major contribution to both Hindi and Marathi films.