Friday, November 27, 2020
Home Bihar election 2020 Tejashwi Yadav to lead RJD alliance, party to contest from 144 seats,...

Tejashwi Yadav to lead RJD alliance, party to contest from 144 seats, Congress, Left get rest

Rashtriya Janata Dal leader Tejashwi Yadav has been declared the RJD-led alliance’s chief ministerial candidate as the alliance announced its seat-sharing pact on Saturday. The RJD will contest 144 seats of the 243 seats in the Bihar Legislative Assembly, the Congress will get 70 and Left parties 29. Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) will contest on 19 seats, the CPI and the CPI(Marxist) together getting 10 seats.

Tejashwi Yadav, the younger son of RJD supremo Lalu Prasad, said on Twitter that the Bihar unit’s Bahujan Samaj Party’s Bihar unit president joined them to lend support in making a new Bihar and remove anti-youth NDA. Some reports said the Vikassheel Insaan Party has left the RJD alliance over its unhappiness over not getting enough seats. The party had also demanded the Deputy CM post.

The opposition hit out at the ruling Nitish Kumar-led coalition over its handling of the coronavirus pandemic and the migrant crisis, besides the floods in the state. The Centre’s controversial farm bills, passed in Parliament despite opposition protests, also feature in Tejashwi Yadav’s campaign pitch to target what he calls an anti-farmer government.

On the other hand, the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA), after two days of hectic deliberations in Patna and New Delhi, is likely to announce a seat-sharing agreement for Bihar assembly election by Saturday evening after Lok Janshakti Party (LJP)’s parliamentary board meeting.

The Election Commission of India recently announced that the poll will be held in three phases on October 28, November 3, and November 7. The counting of votes will take place on November 10. Since it is being held in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic, some new measures are being taken for these elections including an extra voting hour and no physical contact during the campaign. The Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said that Covid patients and those in quarantine can vote separately ensuring no physical contact during meetings and rallies.

Most Popular

Now, BJP manifesto for Hyderabad municipal polls promises free Covid vaccine, testing plus more

Assuring the availability of the Covid vaccine, the BJP said in its manifesto that the vaccination strategy will be adopted in a planned manner by the GHMC. It also assured to scrap Layout Regularisation Scheme (LRS) after winning GHMC polls.

Twitterpolitik: Punjab, Haryana CMs cross tweets over farm protests

The Dilli Chalo march by farmers from Punjab into Haryana on their way to the capital triggered a Twitter battle between the chief ministers of Punjab and Haryana on Thursday.

Nationwide strike cripples normal life in Kerala, clashes erupt in Bengal, Tripura, Odisha

The government offices, businesses and banks remained shut in Kerala. Private buses, rickshaws and taxis were out of services leading to deserted roads.

Delhi govt tells HC it is examining to impose night curfew in capital

A bench comprising Justice Hima Kohli and Justice Subramonium Prasad, which was hearing a plea seeking to increase Covid-19 testing in Delhi, had asked the government whether it will take any specific measures like other states to flatten the Covid-19 graph.