Thursday, February 25, 2021
Home Latest india news Bihar news Bihar Elections 2020: 54.53% polling recorded in first phase

Bihar Elections 2020: 54.53% polling recorded in first phase

The voter turnout in the first phase of polling for the Bihar Assembly was recorded at 54.53% by the Election Commission of India. Voting took place in 71 constituencies of 16 districts in the 243-seat seat assembly. 1,066 candidates were in fray in the first phase of polling. The fight is between ruling National Democratic Alliance comprising of Bharatiya Janata Party, Janata Dal (United) among others and Mahagthbandhan which includes Rashtriya Janata Dal, Congress and Left Parties. Lok Janshakti Party is fighting the election independently.

The election will decide if Janata Dal (United) leader and NDA’s chief ministerial face Nitish Kumar gets a fourth term as chief minister. He is likely to face a tough contest from Rashtriya Janata Dal’s Tejashwi Yadav who is the chief ministerial candidate of the grand alliance. Another factor making the fight interesting in Bihar is Chirag Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party’s solo act in the election.  

Elaborate safety rules will be in place for the polling due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. The voting time has been extended by an hour in view of the safety of the voters who will be able to cast their vote from 7 AM to 6 PM. Voters infected with covid and those in quarantine will be able to vote in the extended hour. Apart from this, around 46 lakh masks, seven lakh hand sanitiser units, 6 lakh PPE kits, 23 lakh pairs of hand gloves and 6.7 lakh units of faces-shields have been arranged by the Election Commission to ensure a safe election.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has urged to people to exercise their franchise and ensure all precautions when they go out to vote. Congress leader Rahul Gandhi also took to Twitter on Wednesday and asked people to vote for justice, employment and change.

Take a look at the constituencies undergoing the polling today!

Read Also: Man shot dead, several injured in police firing during on Durga idol immersion event in Bihar’s Munger

1. Kahalgaon 2. Sultanganj 3. Amarpur 4. Dhoraiya (SC) 5. Banka 6. Katoria (ST) 7. Belhar 8. Tarapur 9. Munger 10. Jamalpur 11. Suryagarha 12. Lakhisarai 13. Sheikhpura 14. Barbigha 15. Mokama 16. Barh 17. Masaurhi (SC) 18. Paliganj 19. Bikram 20. Sandesh 21. Barhara 22. Arrah 23. Agiaon (SC) 24. Tarari 25. Jagdishpur 26. Shahpur 27. Brahampur 28. Buxar 29. Dumraon 30. Rajpur (SC) 31. Ramgarh 32. Mohania (SC) 33. Bhabua 34. Chainpur 35. Chenari (SC) 36. Sasaram 37. Kargahar 38. Dinara 39. Nokha 40. Dehri 41. Karakat 42. Arwal 43. Kurtha 44. Jehanabad 45. Ghosi 46. Makhdumpur (SC) 47. Goh 48. Obra 49. Nabinagar 50. Kutumba (SC) 51. Aurangabad 52. Rafiganj 53. Gurua 54. Sherghati 55. Imamganj (SC) 56. Barachatti (SC) 57. Bodh Gaya (SC) 58. Gaya Town 59. Tikari 60. Belaganj 61. Atri 62. Wazirganj 63. Rajauli (SC) 64. Hisua 65. Nawada 66. Gobindpur 67. Warsaliganj 68. Sikandra (SC) 69. Jamui 70. Jhajha 71. Chakai

Most Popular

Mamata Banerjee writes to PM Modi, says vaccinate people free of cost before Bengal polls

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday wrote to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, seeking to vaccinate people free of cost before the upcoming assembly elections.

Gangubai Kathiawadi teaser out: Alia Bhatt impresses in bold avatar

Cinephiles were in for a treat on Wednesday as much-awaited teaser of Alia Bhatt starrer Gangubai Kathiawadi was released.

Ayushmann Khurrana fans gatecrash hotel in Shillong, actor takes selfie with them

Actor Ayushmann Khurrana's fans gatecrashed the hotel in Shillong where the actor is staying for the shoot of his upcoming movie Anek. In a video which has surfaced online, the actor is seen taking selfie with his fans.

Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee calls PM Modi names

Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday hit out at Prime Minister Narendra Modi by calling him Dangabaaz and Daitya.