Monday, November 30, 2020
Home Bihar election 2020 Bihar election: BJP rethinks poll plan after LJP gamble of going it...

Bihar election: BJP rethinks poll plan after LJP gamble of going it alone

BJP president JP Nadda will meet top leaders of the party on Monday to discuss Bihar election strategy and seat-sharing a day after the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) walked out of the ruling National Democratic Alliance ahead of the Bihar Assembly polls. Senior BJP leaders will meet at Nadda’s residence. Election in-charge Devendra Fadnavis, Bihar in-charge Bhupendra Yadav, Bihar Deputy CM Sushil Kumar Modi, MP Sanjay Jaiswal, and Bihar Minister Mangal Pandey will be present in the meeting.

Earlier on Sunday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Nadda and others in the party’s central election committee held discussions on Bihar seat-sharing formula and list of candidates. Reports said the BJP and the JD(U) are likely to divide the 243 almost equally.

It’s Paswans vs Nitish Kumar!

Chirag Paswan, the LJP leader, announced on Sunday that the party will field its candidates against Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) in 143 constituencies but not against the BJP. Paswan clarified the party had a problem with Chief Minister Nitish Kumar even though it had no bitterness against the BJP. Paswan, whose father Ram Vilas Paswan is a minister in the Modi government, said the LJP and the BJP would form the government in Bihar after the polls.  


Earlier, the LJP had threatened to exit the NDA if not allowed to contest from 42 seats and the BJP had reportedly offered 27 seats to the LJP but the party had rejected the offer.

Over the last few months, Chirag Paswan has been critical of Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar over various issues including the development agenda for Bihar as promised during the 2015 election, the migrant disaster and his handling of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Read Also: CBI raids DK Shivakumar’s premises in corruption case, Congress calls it attempt to derail bypoll preparation

The first phase nomination process for 71 of the total 243 seats has begun from October 1 and will end on October 8. Bihar will go to polls in three phases: October 28, November 3 and November 7. November 10 will be the day the votes are counted.

Most Popular

BJP releases its manifesto in Urdu for DDC polls in Jammu and Kashmir

The BJP on Sunday released its election manifesto in Urdu for the ongoing District Development Council (DDC) polls in Kashmir. Former MLC...

India vs Australia, 2nd ODI: Australia thrash India by 51 runs, take unassailable 2-0 lead in three-match series

India continued its dismal show in the second One Day International (ODI) against Australia at Sydney Cricket Ground on Sunday losing to...

Late Wajid Khan’s wife Kamalrukh accuses in-laws of forcing her to convert to Islam

Kamalrukh Khan, the wife of late musician Wajid Khan, shared a post on her instagram handle on Sunday in which she alleged...

PM Modi reaches out to farmers in Mann Ki Baat, says new farm laws have opened doors for farming community

PM Narendra Modi on Sunday reached out to farmers in his monthly radio broadcast Mann Ki Baat and spoke about the advantages...