Monday, November 30, 2020
Home Latest india news Congress names new general secretaries, Azad loses Haryana role

Congress names new general secretaries, Azad loses Haryana role

Rajya Sabha member and senior Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad has been removed from the post of general secretary in-charge of Haryana late on Friday in what is being read as a punishment to the group of 23 leaders who wrote to Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi seeking significant changes in the party. His position in the Congress Working Committee stays undisturbed.

Azad has been replaced by Vivek Bansal. Other general secretaries who were divested of their general secretary posts the 91-year-old veteran Motilal Vora, Ambika Soni, Luizinho Faleiro and former Congress Lok Sabha leader Mallikarjuna Kharge.

Uttar Pradesh Congress leader Jitin Prasada, who along with Azad, Anand Sharma and Mukul Wasnik was among the group of 23, has been appointed the general secretary in-charge for West Bengal, which is going to the polls next year, and Andaman and Nicobar Island. Similarly, party chief spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala has been appointed the general secretary in-charge for Karnataka. 

Priyanka Gandhi Vadra will now be the general secretary in-charge for Uttar Pradesh. She was earlier general secretary for Uttar Pradesh East, but was practically taking care of the entire state after Jyotiraditya Scindia, who was general secretary for Uttar Pradesh (West), quit from the congress party and joined the BJP.

The new general secretaries are Pawan Kumar Bansal (administration), Harish Rawat (Punjab), Tariq Anwar (Kerala and Lakshadweep), Ajay Maken (Rajasthan), Jitendra Singh (Assam), HK Patil (Maharashtra) and Oommen Chandy (Andhra Pradesh).

The members of the special committee that will advise Sonia Gandhi will comprise AK Antony, Ahmed Patel, KC Venugopal, Mukul Wasnik, Ambika Soni and Randeep Surjewala.

Read Also: After Uddhav Thackeray, Kangana Ranaut has things to say about Sonia Gandhi

The CWC’s new members will be Digvijaya Singh, Rajeev Shukla, Manickam Tagore, Pramod Tiwari, P. Chidambaram, Randeep Surjewala, Jairam Ramesh, Tariq Anwar, Jitendra Singh, HK Patil, Salman Khurshid, Pawan Bansal, Dinesh Gundu Rao, Devender Yadav, Vivek Bansal, Manish Chatrath, Bhakta Charan Das and Kuljit Nagra. Ghulam Nabi Azad and Anand Sharma will continue to be on the CWC.

Most Popular

BJP releases its manifesto in Urdu for DDC polls in Jammu and Kashmir

The BJP on Sunday released its election manifesto in Urdu for the ongoing District Development Council (DDC) polls in Kashmir. Former MLC...

India vs Australia, 2nd ODI: Australia thrash India by 51 runs, take unassailable 2-0 lead in three-match series

India continued its dismal show in the second One Day International (ODI) against Australia at Sydney Cricket Ground on Sunday losing to...

Late Wajid Khan’s wife Kamalrukh accuses in-laws of forcing her to convert to Islam

Kamalrukh Khan, the wife of late musician Wajid Khan, shared a post on her instagram handle on Sunday in which she alleged...

PM Modi reaches out to farmers in Mann Ki Baat, says new farm laws have opened doors for farming community

PM Narendra Modi on Sunday reached out to farmers in his monthly radio broadcast Mann Ki Baat and spoke about the advantages...