Friday, October 23, 2020
Home Latest india news India vs Australia: A high-scoring clash and renewal of rivalries

India vs Australia: A high-scoring clash and renewal of rivalries

India are all set to take on the Aussies in a high-octane clash at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Both the teams will look to prove their authority in the 50-overs format.

The last time the teams met in a bilateral ODI series, Australia defeated India 3-2 in March last year.

An in-form David Warner and  ‘run-machine’ Steve Smith will be tested by a formidable Indian pace bowling attack Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami.

With Marnus Labuschagne breaking into the ODI side for the first time, it will be interesting to see how he fares in the limited-overs. The South Africa-born star had an excellent run with the red ball, reaching a career high number three rank in the Test batting rankings.

Virat Kohli and his men will continue to carry on the fine run this season after they bounced back strongly against Windies and won the series 2-1 after being 0-1 down.

Plenty of dilemma of captain Kohli as both Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul returned to form in the T20s against Sri Lanka. The duo are expected to play in the first ODI which means Virat Kohli will have to bat lower down the order.

As usual Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma will lead the batting as the duo have been in top form over the last few years.

For India, the lower middle-order needs to give the late push and a lot will rely on Kedar Jadhav and Ravindra Jadeja to finish off the run-scoring well.

The series will also see a renewal in the rivalry between Steve Smith and Virat Kohli.

Australia’s bowling attack will be lead by IPL’s most expensive foreign player Pat Cummins and the lethal Mitchell Starc.

All the three matches in the series are expected to be played on flat tracks and the run-scoring is expected to be easy. We can expect to see 300-plus scores in all matches.


India: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami.

Australia: Aaron Finch (c), Alex Carey (wk), Patrick Cummins, Ashton Agar, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Most Popular

Prabhas celebrates 41st birthday, Rana Daggubati, Mahesh Babu send wishes

Baahubali actor Prabhas celebrated his 41st birthday today. As the clock struck midnight, the actors’ fans and well-wishers all across the country...

Kashmir parties to give formal shape to People’s Alliance for Gupkar declaration, Farooq Abdullah may lead group

Ahead of the constitutional battle to restore article the special status of Jammu and Kashmir, the leaders of seven party People's Alliance...

Bihar Elections 2020: PM Modi says opposition promise of restoring Article 370 an insult to state’s martyrs

The prime minister said the lantern era is now gone and people must not forget how bad the situation was when those with lanterns were in power.

IPL 2020: Sunrisers Hyderabad stay alive in playoff race after 8-wicket win over Rajasthan Royals

With the help of Pandey’s 83 and Shankar’s 52 Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Rajasthan Royals by eight wickets on Thursday in Dubai International Cricket Stadium.